

(352) 625-9570 www.flmusiced.org/fba DuaneLHendon@cs.com

FLORIDA BANDMASTERS ASSOCIATION – 70th year DISTRICT MEETING #4 MINUTES FORMAT (ver. 08-05)

DISTRICT NUMBER: 3	MEETING DATE: May 8, 2006 6:00pm
MEETING NUMBER: 4	MEETING LOCATION: Swift Creek Middle School

Item 1: Call to Order and Introductory Remarks

Meeting was called to order at 6:35pm.

Item 2: Members and Guests Present

Michael Antmann Swift Creek Middle School

Ruthie Antmann Holy Comforter Episcopal School

Alex Kaminsky Lincoln High School

Kathy Kaminsky School of Arts and Sciences

Josh Bula Leon High School

Mike German Lawton Chiles High School

Jon JonesGodby High SchoolQuincy GriffinRickards High SchoolMarcus ScottNims Middle SchoolHolly KennedyCobb Middle School

Lee Cook Taylor County Middle School
Brett Wilson Taylor County High School

Guests:

Shannon Collins, QSP/Reader's Digest Jeff Jernigan, Swift Creek Band Parent

Item 3: Reading of Previous Minutes

Motion to waive the reading of the minutes. (German/Kaminsky) PASSED

Item 4: Treasurer's Report

Checking: \$4,216.25

Proposed Budget for Next Year: \$28,630.00

Item 5: Announcements, etc.:

Summer Convention: July 13-15 at the Altamonte Hilton. For details, visit the FBA website

www.flmusiced.org/fba

Item 6: Music Advocacy Issues with FBA and FSMA

Check www.flmusiced.org for legislative updates.

The honors credit for high school music classes has been approved!

Item 7: Unfinished Business

Complete adjudicator evaluation forms for Solo/Ensemble and Concert MPA's

Dates for Next Year:

Marching: October 28, 2006

District Honor Band; January 18-20, 2007 Solo/Ensemble/Jazz: February 16-17, 2007

MS Concert, March 8-9, 2007 HS Concert, March 9-10, 2007

MOTION: To hold All-District Band Auditions on Dec. 9 at Lincoln HS (Kaminsky/Griffin) PASSED

Item 8: Committee Reports

All-District Band

2007 Clinicians:

HS – Dr. Bill Wiedrich, USF

MS – Jim Matthews

Item 9: New Business

NONE

Item 10: District Adjudicators for Next School Year

Please bring suggestions for Concert, Marching, and S/E adjudicators. The following have been hired for Solo/Ensemble:

SE2007				
Title	First	Last	MI	School
Mr.	Danny	Gottlieb		
Mr.	John	Bradley	W.	Monroeville Middle School
Dr.	James	Brown	W.	Gadsden Co. Schools
Mr.	Michael	Ginesin	S.	Greenwood Lakes Middle School
Mrs.	Beth	Gottlieb		Rollins College
Mr.	William	Hazlett	C.	Providence School
Mrs.	Barbara	Kaminsky		Lawton Chiles Middle School
Mr.	James	Layton	A.	Lakeside Middle School
Dr.	William	Hinckle	J.	Seminole Community College
Mrs.	Sue	Nicholson		Seaside Neighborhood School
Mr.	Chris	Sharp		Composer/Arranger
Mr.	Mickey	Young	W.	(Retired)
Mrs.	Cheryl	Young	S.	Caloosa Middle School

Item 11: Nominations for State MPA Adjudicators

NONE

Item 12: Nominations for Adjudicators List (secret ballot)

NONE

Item 13: Suggestions to State Committees

Clinic: Effective communication between high school and middle school band programs/increasing 8th grade participation in high school band.

Item 14: Proposals to the Executive Board

NONE

Item 15: Correspondence

NONE

Item 16: For the Good of the Association

Upcoming Concerts: Lincoln HS – May 11, 7:30, LHS Auditorium Chiles HS – May 11, 7:00, LCHS Theater Nims/Rickards – May 16, RHS Auditorium GHS – May 9, 7:00, GHS Auditorium Cobb – May 18, 7:00, Cobb Gym Swift Creek – May 16, 7:00, SCMS Gym

Summer Convention: July 13-15 Altamonte Hilton

Job Openings Next Year: Godby HS Hamilton County HS Florida High

Swift Creek Summer Music Camp (July 17 – August 4) is open to any student from any school who will be entering grades one through eight. More information about this camp is available at www.swiftcreekband.com.

Thank you to Shannon Collins for providing the food for our meeting.

Thank you to the Jeff and Sandra Jernigan for preparing the food for our meeting.

Good Luck to Jon Jones who will be moving to Illinois this summer.

Item 17: Next Meeting Date

8/12/06, 10:00am – Leon High School Band Room

Item 18: Adjournment

MOTION to adjourn (Cook/Jones) PASSED

Meeting was adjourned at 7:32pm.

Name of District Secretary:

Michael Antmann

Signature: Michael Antmann